Hannah Lowe named a Next Generation Poet

Author circular 672x372 sm featured hannah

With great pleasure we announce that Hannah Lowe, author of the upcoming Hercules Editions chapbook Ormonde, has been named as one of the 2014 Next Generation Poets.

Organised by the Poetry Book Society, this prestigious award occurs just once a decade, in recognition of the 20 most exciting new poets from the UK and Ireland. The society’s list is described as “a rare chance for adult poets who are still building their careers and developing their audience to gain widespread recognition”, and has identified many fine poets: in 2004 it featured the likes of Alice Oswald, Owen Shers, Gwyneth Lewis and Tobias Hill while 1994’s list included Simon Armitage, John Burnside and current poet laureate Carol Ann Duffy.

“I’m absolutely delighted to be included on the 2014 Next Generation list, and to have this kind of support and endorsement,” comments Hannah Lowe. “It’s wonderful to be among so many poets I admire, and to follow-on from the wonderful poets named in previous lists, many of whom inspired me to write.”

Lowe’s next publication will Ormonde, a collection of poems and archive material charting the 1947 journey of Jamaican emigrants on SS Ormonde, one of the SS Empire Windrush’s lesser-known forerunners (upon which her father was a passenger). The book will be published by Hercules Editions in early November 2014. There are more details here.

Hannah Lowe with son Rory, at this year’s Poetry Book Fair. (Photo © Vici MacDonald 2014)
Hannah Lowe with son Rory, at this year’s Poetry Book Fair

About the award

Poet and broadcaster Ian McMillan was chair of the judges, along with poet and playwright Caroline Bird; Robert Crawford, from the New Generation Poets list; Paul Farley, from Next Generation Poets; and the poet Clare Pollard. McMillan said: “New and developing poets are the lifeblood of poetry, an art form that constantly renews and reinvents itself, and I’m excited and proud to be involved with Next Generation Poets 2014, a signpost and a roadmap to a potentially marvellous poetic future.”

This announcement of the 20 Next Generation Poets is accompanied by an extensive events programme starting in September 2014, taking place at bookshops, libraries, festivals and arts venues, and culminates in a celebration at a major London venue, to which all the poets will be invited, in March 2015. The full Next Generation list reads: Tara Bergin, Emily Berry, Sean Borodale, Annie Freud, Rebecca Goss, Emma Jones, Luke Kennard, Melissa Lee-Houghton, Hannah Lowe, Kei Miller, Helen Mort, Daljit Nagra, Heather Phillipson, Kate Tempest, Mark Waldron, Sam Willetts and Jane Yeh; further details of the award are here.